TED Talk Challenge #27: Paradox of Choice

TED Talk LogoHappiness scaleThis TED Talk by Barry Schwartz is a bit of an old one, but if anything time has only made it more relevant. This is actually one I’ve seen before but it’s one of my favourites and it’s one I wanted to get in before the end of the challenge.

Schwartz explains how having an abundance of choice may in fact not be good for us, essentially paralyzing us when it comes to decision-making and ultimately making us less happy as a result.

Paradox of choiceOne thing I really love about this talk (and TED in general) is that I’ve found after learning this I’ve become much less worried about the choices I make (well, except for buying phones. Waaayyyy too many choices there). Now that I understand how having a mass of decisions to make in life can be detrimental to my happiness I find that making those decisions is much less complicated and less stressful. Hopefully it will help you in the same way.

For anyone interested, you can buy a copy of Barry’s book ‘Paradox of Choices‘ at Amazon.com.

(Typical, only four more TED Talks to go to finish the challenge and now I find the embed option. Blah!)

http://blog.ted.com/2006/09/26/paradox_of_choi/

About Jamie D
I'm an entrepreneur and small business owner working in 3D animation and multimedia. I also have a keen interest in technology and education.

Leave a Reply

