TED Talk Challenge #22: Obesity + Hunger = 1 global food issue

TED Talk Logo

We’re almost off the whole diet thing, I promise. But that’s okay, Ellen Gustafson’s talk is only partially about diet and quite a bit more about food world-wide.Global food

I love her opening “When I’m hungry, I’m really pissed off. And I’m assuming that the rest of the world is too”. What’s beautiful is that she links it to global security, and I couldn’t agree more.

Far too often I hear people in Australia bitching and moaning about immigrants and terrorists and I think that quote explains exactly how I feel on the issue. The problem isn’t so much with terrorism, it’s with education and health. Fix the last two and I promise you’ll fix a massive chunk of the first.

But anyway, that’s enough of my hijacking Ellen’s talk. Her talk is more about the global food system and how obesity and starvation are strongly linked and how we might go about solving both simply by changing the way we eat.

http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/ellen_gustafson_obesity_hunger_1_global_food_issue.html

About Jamie D
I'm an entrepreneur and small business owner working in 3D animation and multimedia. I also have a keen interest in technology and education.

Leave a Reply

