Your turn

So I’ve got a bit of work to do over the next week or two (woohoo!). The down side of this is it’s unlikely I’ll have time to do any major posts during this time. The next couple of posts I have planned are going to require a bit of research on my behalf, so although they’ll be interesting and well documented they will take some time to put together.
In the mean time though I still want my dose of philosophical and theological thinking. My last post laid out my beliefs. Now it’s your turn. What do you believe, and more importantly, why do you believe it?
I’ve eluded to it before, but I want to spell it out more clearly now. What you believe is mildly interesting. But I think why you believe something is vastly more interesting and important.
There are any number of beliefs out there and some are more crazy than others. But it’s possible one of then might be right. I have no expectations of this universe. The answers we search for may not be fair. They may not make sense.
My point is that just because someone’s beliefs may seem outrageous at first glance and appear to insult the intelligence, that alone doesn’t make them untrue. And we’re all about finding the truth here at InquisitiveBliss.
So the belief itself isn’t terribly important. What’s important is how we go about reaching and justifying those beliefs.
As an example, I have an atheist friend. I’ve talked to him on numerous occasions about religion and it’s quite clear he has little to no idea about any of the major religions. When you need to explain who Moses was you can be pretty sure the individual is lacking some education.
I think he’s reached the right conclusion. He’s an atheist and doesn’t believe in a god. But he’s got very little idea of what he rejects.
Now if he’s a weak atheist then he is logically on solid ground. It’s not his place to provide negative evidence, which as we’ve previously discussed is impossible. But when we’re talking about the ultimate question, ‘What is the meaning of life?’ I think sitting on your bum waiting for someone to spoon-feed you the answers is intellectually lazy. Even if you’re a weak atheist, pick up a book and see if you can’t be convinced to become a strong atheist. Or even better, pick up a book that challenges your position and see if you can’t explain why they’re wrong. And maybe, if there’s some truth to what they’re selling, you’ll be drawn to it.
I don’t think my friend has good reasons for being an atheist. I think a little more effort on his behalf would not go astray.
I mention this for a good reason. Part of finding the truth is pulling apart ideas, turning them inside out and seeing if they still hold water. So if you post a reply to this post, be aware that your ideas will be pulled apart, in the same way I gave you the opportunity to pull mine to pieces.
Don’t think that being an atheist makes you safe here. Your beliefs will be torn open just like everyone else’s and just because I agree with your conclusion doesn’t mean I agree with your logic or methods to get there. And if you’re serious about your skepticism you will be grateful for this. Having bad reasons for a good belief may be fine for your religious beliefs, but may land you in hot water with other beliefs. Having a good standard for our beliefs is a good thing, as it makes it more likely we will reach the truth in all subjects, as well as making it less likely we will hurt ourselves or others.

So…your turn.

 

-Ignorance is not bliss. Stay inquisitive.

 

P.S. On a side note, I’ve downloaded the wordpress app for my iPhone and I’ve typed this all up on a train trip. So I’m without a spell checker and many other features. It will be interesting to see how it turns out.

About Jamie D
I'm an entrepreneur and small business owner working in 3D animation and multimedia. I also have a keen interest in technology and education.

2 Responses to Your turn

  1. Bec says:

    So “cus it’s tarded” isn’t an acceptable answer? :-p

Leave a Reply

